Gibson Brands Forums

Guitar Set Aside for Slide

Andre S

Slide is awesome, and if I continue to play then I will want to get a guitar setup for slide especially, I have a couple questions.

I decided I like the 12" radius of the Gibson fretboard, so whatever guitar I get will have that radius.

Which scale length is better to have, 24 3/4 or 25.5? Or something inbetween like 25"?

If I choose 24 3/4 but I find that the alternate tunings make the strings too loose, will using strings heavier than 10's help to maintain the tension as though it were in standard tuning?

I heard that using heavy gauge strings too is usually better?

I am still learning on my regular electric, but since I only have one I like the idea of having one set aside with a slightly higher action etc etc to keep in alt. tunings; I read people saying that you can play slide in Standard tuning, but after experimenting with Open E, Open G and Standard and one or two others, I really like Open E, IMO it sounds more bluesy and soulful especially with some reverb.

I hope to buy a Coronet to have set up for slide, right now I just have my Contemporary Strat set up for slide. I like to use either Open A (because the bottom two strings stay E and A so I can play bass lines then jump up to some cool slide solo-y stuff, or Open E (because it just sounds so badass).

Slide is fun, I have hardly any talent with it, I just goof around. (took my slide licks from Jack White)

Link

The first song is me messing around on slide, it sucks recorded it at like 2:30am one day on my Fender Mini Tone Master.

I hope to buy a Coronet to have set up for slide' date=' right now I just have my Contemporary Strat set up for slide. I like to use either Open A (because the bottom two strings stay E and A so I can play bass lines then jump up to some cool slide solo-y stuff, or Open E (because it just sounds so badass).

Slide is fun, I have hardly any talent with it, I just goof around. (took my slide licks from Jack White)