Gibson Brands Forums

Valve Junior vs Roland Cube 15X

Well the $40 pocket amp and the $30 pocket amp both suck so I'm thinking about throwing $150 or so at a real amp. I've been recommended the Roland Cube 15X, nice featureful solid state amp with lots of shiny knobs and a good sound to it, $100. I'm thinking about going with tube amps, however, so I'm peeking around for a cheap one... and there only seems to be one brand under $1000.

So I'm thinking, Roland Cube 15X versus Epiphone Valve Junior. I hear the Junior sounds good and you can drop in some higher quality tubes (which cost what, $20?) to get an even better sound out. It's tube pre-amp and tube power-amp, only 5W but I don't need to wake the neighbors with back yard concerts (I'm still LEARNING to play... and progressing I might add). There's no effects knobs, but ... it's tubes ... they don't exactly respond gracefully to increasing input signal. You want overdrive? Crank the volume.

Any thoughts? (mind you there's a solid state Fender in the next room, and a tube amp in the next house; I've heard both, but the tube amp isn't readily accessible)

Get a VJr. Or get a BlackHeart "Killer Ant" if you don't want to wake the neighbors. And you know you wanna cuz you know only tubes have THAT tone; and the less knobs and switches that are in the way, the better the tone is! So go for it! =D>

Gil...

Someone else is telling me the Roland has more controls (duh) and I can only control tone via the tone knob on my guitar with the Valve; and of course, the Roland doesn't have a bad sound....