Gibson Brands Forums

Emperor AS curiosity

Stratonecaster

Hi Iam a newbie here. I got an Emperor As, the inside label writtem kalmazoo michigan. Wonder if this is a real US made epi or Asian made. Its a big jazzbox, withh 2 pups, gold hard ware, frequensator tailpiece. I think spruce top, 3 pcs neck mahogany (i guess) Any information bout this?

Thanks

Hi Iam a newbie here. I got an Emperor As' date=' the inside label writtem kalmazoo michigan. Wonder if this is a real US made epi or Asian made. Its a big jazzbox, withh 2 pups, gold hard ware, frequensator tailpiece. I think spruce top, 3 pcs neck mahogany (i guess) Any information bout this?

Thanks[/quote']

If the model name refers to "AS" (meaning "Antique Sunburst") then it's definitely Asian-made as the neither the New York or Kalamazoo-made Emperors ever had this designation for its models. Since the label refers to "Kalamazoo, Michigan" this is a Japanese Matsumoku-made Epiphone from between the late 70's to the mid 80's.. . Post the serial number and we'll be able to date it to the year and month. These were pretty nice and pretty high quality guitars. Not extremely valuable...$750-$900 USD . They started out as a limited to Japan line but as time progressed they became distributed world-wide.

Nelson

I got it for $800 mint condition, pro setup and custom rosewood pickguard(replacing the curving original pickguard), original hardcase and 2 sets Thomastik Infeld string. Sounds great, nice aging colour. serial number 4014114. wonder if the top, back and side are solid wood or not, but acousticaly it sounds good, very resonant(compare to my Gibson ES175).