Gibson Brands Forums

AJ-500M case and strings...

wooglins

Two quesitons.

1. Does epiphone make a case for the AJ-500m? If so where can I find it for purchase.

2. I am going to have my new AJ-500M setup tommorow and I need to pick some strings. I am a newbie so I dont know a whole lot about all the different brands. Any suggestions? The DAddario EXP look good on paper. Should I go 80/20 Bronze or Phosphor Bronze? I am open to any brand of course, just dont know what to get.

Thanks in advance..

Two quesitons.

1. Does epiphone make a case for the AJ-500m? If so where can I find it for purchase.

2. I am going to have my new AJ-500M setup tommorow and I need to pick some strings. I am a newbie so I dont know a whole lot about all the different brands. Any suggestions? The DAddario EXP look good on paper. Should I go 80/20 Bronze or Phosphor Bronze? I am open to any brand of course' date=' just dont know what to get.

Thanks in advance..

[/quote']

Sweetwater sells cases for Masterbilt guitars. The dreadnaught case fits both AJ and DR models.

Strings are a very personal preference. I use Gibson Masterbuilt Phosphor Bronze on my Epiphone Masterbilt acoustics.

Red 333

Thanks for the info. I saw that case at sweetwater but was unsure if it would fit since it said dreadnaught. I went ahead and ordered it. Sweetwater has great service, called me right away to let me know my order had shipped. I think I will probably go with the EXP strings. Which ones are closest to the same size that comes on it? The light or extra light?

Strings are, to a large extent, a matter of taste. Preference depends on what type of sound you favor and what music you play.

That being said, it's always a good idea to use light gauge as most guitars are designed for them and they are much easier on the instrument. Move up to medium only if you can't get the sound you want with any brand of lights.