Gibson Brands Forums

Jazz Amp for Broadway?

Once upon a time, I was a professional player. A few decades back, I 'retired' in favor of more remunerative work. Sold off the gear and raised a family. Several months back, I decided to see if any chops would come back. While once I played all sorts of music, I find that nowadays I'm just thinking about jazz. Picked up a Broadway (great guitar if you string it heavy enough) and a Valve Junior. I quickly discovered that the VJ was not the right amp for anything other than a little bit of fill.

Since I last took guitar seriously, all of the brands have changed. Old brands have gone or found new owners. There are many new brands that I don't know. So my former expertise is pretty useless. I'm aware that there are some mighty pricey amps out there. Perhaps that day will come, but at the moment I'm thinking in the few hundreds of dollars.

So I wonder if any of you might know about moderately-priced amps that will stay clean and will enhance the nice woody tones of the Broadway. Many thanks for any comments.

"I quickly discovered that the VJ was not the right amp for anything other than a little bit of fill."

MichaelC ....I dont know how you got your VJ set-up but, I've got JJ tubes in mine...I put an EQ pedal and a touch of reverb in front when I use my Samick JZ-2 Jazzbox and she drips with honey tone....I hope it all works out for ya....

Since I last took guitar seriously, all of the brands have changed.

Those are still available. Not still produced, but still available.

The Roland JC120 is Les Paul's amp of choice these days, as I recall.

Welcome back, btw. What the hell took you so long? ;-)

Welcome aboard Michael, I have a similar story.