Gibson Brands Forums

New Valve Jr Question

lothar333

Hello,

I'm very new to tube amps but picked up a new Valve Jr Combo from a reputable online dealer, it was delivered to my house yesterday. I'm unable to get sound out of the amp at low volumes, and at high volumes the hum/hiss is almost as loud as the sound from the guitar. I have to have the volume on the VJ at 12:00 or higher to hear any sound reproduction. I have a couple different guitars, this is with both guitars all pickups as loud as they can go, and multiple different speaker cables connecting the head to the cab. Anyone have any ideas, or is this the expected behavior?

Thanks much for any help that you have to offer. I've reached out to the retailer's tech support, but I'm impatient...I'd like to hear what this thing can do.

Hello' date='

I Anyone have any ideas, or is this the expected behavior?