Gibson Brands Forums

Checking out second-hand basses, any tips?

Sjael

Now as everyone in the universe knows, I'm a phenomenal guitarist*, and have built and repaired my own guitars and thus know my way around the fairly well.

*May or may not be total bullshit.

Now, I'm in the final stages of writing for my upcoming, phenomenal* solo album (12 songs finalized, 5 more vying for slots.)

*Also may or may not be total bullshit.

This means sooner or later I'm gonna need a bass to record with. The most time I've spent with any bass was probably 5 minutes of dicking around on my band-mate's Dean V bass during practices. I'm also not in the best of financial situations so I'm likely gonna go second-hand for it.

Is there anything special I need to look for in a bass? besides the guitar carry-overs (fret buzz, etc.)

Thanks in advance!

As always, Imma gonna recomend a Fender-Jazz Bass stlye instrument. They're VERY versitile, and about 80% of music since 1951 has a Fender bass on it (Precision or Jazz.) Jazz has a thinner neck on it, easier for a guitarist to use (or so I'm told...) A Jazz can also sound like a Precision with the neck pup soloed. And then it has a Bridge pup too. They're available at EVERY price point. An MIM Fender can be had used for about $350 US. An Affinty Squire is about $100 US used. MY FAVORITE is the Squire Vintage Modified '70's Style Jazz Bass. Maple body, maple neck, maple fingerboard, Duncan designed pups. They need zero upgrades to sound fantastic. Used I've seen them between $150-200 US. And they look badass too.

squier%20vintage%20mod%20jazz7.jpg