Gibson Brands Forums

Epi Les Paul Prophecy "EX vs GX"

introvert

Newbie here

I'm looking at either the Les Paul Prophecy GX or EX, can't decide which one is right for me. I probably play 70 to 80 percent metal, but do like to play some "softer" stuff once and a while.

Basically it all comes down to whether I should get the dirty fingers or EMG's.

2 questions for you....

1) What is the better of the two for pickups (EMG's or dirty fingers) for someone with my musical taste ?

2) If you recommend one over the other, what amp would you recommend to compliment the guitar (I have $500 that will be going toward replacing my Line 6 Spider III 75 watt) ?

Thanks

Welcome to the forum :-$

I faced the same predicament myself a while ago; I play mostly hard rock and metal, but not always. I went to my local music chain store and played around with both, they were both equally nice feeling guitars, so I asked to plug in the EX, and the helpful [confused] sales assistant took me to a demo room and plugged me into a Marshall AVT100 half stack. It blew my mind how amazing the thing sounded, and after a couple of sloppy riffs (my first electric [biggrin]) I bought it on the spot, no regrets. A few months later I scored an amazing deal on a Marshall AVT100 combo, and we've been blowing doors down ever since.

I've since bought an Explorer, and got a Gibson Dirty Fingers (same as the Prophecy GX) to stick in it, but it just wasn't to my taste, and I now have a set of chrome EMGs (85/60) coming for it. [biggrin]

So, in answer to your questions:

1) I think EMGs. As long as you do the (simple) 18v mod, EMGs can do anything.

2) I recommend trying out a Marshall Valvestate (The AVT series, the VS ones suck,) although it is a particularly subjective tone (read: People scoff at the words 'Valvestate' and 'Hybrid,' then ask me how I got my amazing tone.)

I was bored so I even went as far as to record you some clips from my LP Prophecy EX:

http://sjael.ghost.net.nz/85b_mix.mp3