Gibson Brands Forums

Spirit vs Synapse

nevada

Hi all in steinberger land,

I am new here. I am really interested in buying a steinberger, but I have no experience with it.

My question is, should i start out with the spirit line, or is paying the extra $$ worth it for a synapse?

The ZT3 however is definitely way out of my budget.

Really appreciate any advice before i make my purchase.

Thanks!!

Hi Eagle

Thanks for your advise. Nevermind my username, i am not in America but in Malaysia, and i have no way of checking out any steins for real.

But i only just once tried one (don't know what model) and i really liked it, and now am looking for one.

Do you think its better getting a brand new synapse or search for used models instead? COme to think of it, Im kind of hesitant to get a synapse as i do use the whammy, and i was hoping to get to benefit from the supposedly very stable stein trems.

With a budget of US1000 (maybe just slightly more), what can i get? Or is this budget just too low?

thanks..

I would look for an old GR4 on Ebay ,$1000 should be plenty and if you get a nice old one (not moses necked) you will find it much better than anything they make now. The R trem can need maintenance after time but parts are easy to come by and you could always fit a TT or an XS trem at a latter date .

This one will probably go for around $1K

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Steinberger-GR4-Electric-Guitar-GR-4-1993-USA-NR_W0QQitemZ280457479626QQcmdZViewItemQQptZGuitar?hash=item414c9185ca

thanks for the advise, Eagle. As a matter of fact i did check out that guitar in the link. Guess i'll try going for a used stein instead of a new synapse.

if you dont mind me asking further, have you tried the moses necked steins and are they really superior to the phenolic fretboards?