Gibson Brands Forums

Problem with a Viola bass

Papalampraina

Hello to everyone who reads this.

I am very new to epiphone (fender lover tbh) but I managed to get an Epi Viola bass through a trade.

Even with so much dirt on it, it was easy to see that it's a beautiful instrument.

I cleaned it, polished it, put new TI flats on and the g-string (no pun) buzzes at the 12th or the 13th fret, depending on how high or low I will set the saddle.

Actually it's not a typical buzz, it's like putting the finger on the 12th fret and the string is played like it's the 13th fret. I'm playing a G and I hear a buzzing G#.

If I set the saddle very high, the same thing goes for the 13th and 14th frets respectively.

Sorry for giving so many, probably useless, details, but floating bridges and saddles are not my thing.

I was thinking of taking the bass to a luthier, but if it's something I can fix myself, I suppose I can save some money.

Anyone out there that had the same problem on the Viola or other bass and knows how to deal with it?

Any info is really welcomed.

Sorry, I don't really understand the question. In particular I don't understand this bit

Actually it's not a typical buzz, it's like putting the finger on the 12th fret and the string is played like it's the 13th fret. I'm playing a G and I hear a buzzing G#.

The only things that I can think of is that you've got too much neck relief or a slightly high fret above the twelth (maybe the G# fret) and the string is catching and creating some kind of wolf tone. At what fret does the buzzing disappear?

Without the buzzing I would say that the intonation is way off if you're getting G# at the 12th fret. Are you sure the bridge is in the correct position? How are the other strings at the same position?