Gibson Brands Forums

1971 LP Deluxe Specs

mpeixoto

Hi KS,

Thank you very much for your help.

I just saw your website and I got amazed and frightened... that Gibson LP Studio repair job was amazing...

I have some Gibson LP bought over the Internet and now I don’t now if any of them had a headstock repair...

One thing is for sure if I ever have a serious repair to do my Guitar goes (from Portugal) straight to you!

I really liked your 1971 GT, my Deluxe is a 1971 Sunburst and its 100% original (at least I bought it think that...).

140703559_o.jpg

140703606_o.jpg

The specs that I would like to know are:

Body

Neck/Profile

Fingerboard/Inlay

Scale/Nut Width

Binding

Bridge/Tailpiece

Hardware

Pickups

Rock On,

Miguel

Yours may be a 1972 due to the Gibson logo on the pickups. Popular legend says they were only used in 1972 but I bet some 71s and maybe some 73s had them too.

The body is "sandwiched" mahogany (multi-layers) with a maple cap.

I'm not good at describing neck profiles but it is a little thicker, rounder, and fuller than many LPs. Typical of 1969-70-71 though.

Fingerboard is rosewood with trapezoid inlays, no idea as to material.

Scale is 24.75", nut width is 1-11/16".

Binding is single layer cream, no clue as to material.

Bridge has been replaced; original was an ABR-1 I think (and distorted, therefore replaced!).

Tailpiece appears to be aluminum or some other lightweight metal with plating all flaked off.

The tuners were likely Schaller made with the Gibson logo. They were long ago replaced by Schaller M-1s.

The pickups were stock mini humbuckers which I replaced with Dimarzios (direct replacement).

I have a Gibson sales brochure #838429 copyright date of 1975. Then, as in now, Gibson doesn't want to be too specific on published specs. That way they can always change them. I claim no accuracy or divine knowlege of this information, I'm only retyping what is written. Here's what they published at the time: