Gibson Brands Forums

recent Epiphone purchase, neck bowed?

canadave

Hi all,

Just by way of introduction, I'm only a guitar dabbler--keyboards are my main area of expertise. But I'm no pro in either--just an amateur.

I bought a basic Epiphone guitar (AJ-100 VS) from Long&McQuade music store in Halifax, Canada, in October. I've enjoyed it many times since then.

However, I haven't played it for the last couple of months. Yesterday, I picked it up and tried to play it, and it sounded like it was broken. Every string when plucked made this flat kind of buzzing sound or almost no noise at all; I couldn't even do a basic full strum and get any kind of decent noise out of it. Note that it wasn't just "out of tune"--it just wouldn't play, period.

I had a look at it, and it appears to me that the neck is slightly back-bowed at the part where the neck meets the body. From that point down to the head of the guitar, all along the neck, it looks pretty straight.

I tried a bit of a truss-rod adjustment, and that has helped a little. I've done three small turns over the past day; it's at the point now where I can get sound out of the strings. However, the high E string is still a mess--as I go up the fretboard, there are a couple of completely dead spots; and there are some places where I get the exact same note on adjacent frets (sometimes even three consecutive frets). The other strings aren't great either--even the low E bass string sounds as if it's making slight contact with a fret and is "buzzing".

I had another look just now, and the bow maybe looks a LITTLE better, but not a whole lot.

I'm not sure how to handle this. Do I continue making truss rod adjustments? I'm leery to keep twisting that thing, since I really don't know what I'm doing. Plus, I thought it was for unbowing the entire neck, not just to unbow one particular area.