Gibson Brands Forums

The Sky is Crying

G McBride

You all know that I started taking some lessons back in September. I am another of those people that are self taught and have played for 45 years. Now that I am older and more patient I thought I should know more.

This week we started working on Stevie Ray's "The Sky Is Crying". Finally getting the guy to understand that I am not going to be a shredder, I want to make my guitar talk with some feeling.

I am using either my 359 or my 339 and the instructor loves them both.

Any of the rest of you still taking lessons, there were several of us senior guys doing it a couple of months ago.

You all know that I started taking some lessons back in September. I am another of those people that are self taught and have played for 45 years. Now that I am older and more patient I thought I should know more.

This week we started working on Stevie Ray's "The Sky Is Crying". Finally getting the guy to understand that I am not going to be a shredder, I want to make my guitar talk with some feeling.

I am using either my 359 or my 339 and the instructor loves them both.

Any of the rest of you still taking lessons, there were several of us senior guys doing it a couple of months ago.

I'm still at it. Missed about a month until last Thursday.

One of the smarter moves I've made. My knowledge and ability has moved so much quicker with the lessons. Of course my knowledge of the neck has improved greatly but I think one of the biggest things is confidence. My preferred music to play is definitely along the blues line. I can really groove to it with feeling and some finesse now. No longer just playing notes. I've played with feeling for some time now but I am much better at translating that feeling to the guitar and out the amp. Most of the time I don't even look at where I'm playing unless I hear something awful.

It sounds like you and I share a few things. 339 included.

Dave