Gibson Brands Forums

An interesting concept

Guest Farnsbarns

Guest farnsbarns

I have been teaching a friend to play. A complete beginner.

In order that he share my understanding and abstraction of the fret board I have just taught him how a 12 bar works and shown him how to play one in any key using barre chords. I've done this so he can start to see how keys work and how the relationships between chords are the same in any key (we were sticking to major keys).

I have also taught him the minor pentatonic blues scale and he is just starting to get to grips with improvising over a 12 bar with that scale in the root. He noticed himself how ending bar 4 with a diminished 7th and going on to the 4th or 5th for the first note of bar 5 sounded nice. He had also noticed how some notes sounded wrong around the changes.

Apart from being impressed by his ear (it's only lesson 5) I decided it was time to start imparting to him how it all fits together so I showed him how to grab the diminished 7th in a chord so he can use it in the 1-4 change when he's playing rhythm.

I explained how the 7th leads nicely to the next chord because it us the 4th in the coming chord. He got exited and said "yeah, it's as if the seventh announces the change us comming, it like saying wait... Go!". (he even said the three full stops)

I was staggered so I showed him how a minor chord has a flattened 3rd which gives a feeling if sadness.

He got it. Then came the interesting concept...

The resolution and solidity of a 135 major chord is like a full stop, a major chord with a diminished 7th is like three full stops, announcing something's about to change and a third is like a semi colon, full of suspense and drama.

What do you think, timing aside, thease are our punctuation?