Gibson Brands Forums

Pickup Cover Help!?

ninjapowersmm

Hey guys, I'm the new guy here so play nice:)

However I've been playing for 6 years.

ANYWAYS.

I have this Epiphone G-310 that I've had for like 5 years now and I'm trying to put pickup covers on them to add the guitar aesthetically, but I've run into a few problems.

1. I didn't wax pot the pick up covers onto the pickup. Will that cause problems?

2. The pickup with the covers on them now won't fit through the hole of the pickguard and are sitting at an awkward angle. How can I fix this? Have you guys ran into the same problems? Thanks.

1. I didn't wax pot the pick up covers onto the pickup. Will that cause problems?

If you don't have squealing/feedback problems with them now, then you shouldn't have them with covers. That said, wax potting is a good idea.

More importantly, if the covers are metal, they need to be grounded to the pickups:

Electric-Guitar-PAF-humbucker-pickup-5136.jpg

2. The pickup with the covers on them now won't fit through the hole of the pickguard and are sitting at an awkward angle. How can I fix this? Have you guys ran into the same problems?

If you're really handy and have the correct tools you may be able to modify your existing pickguard, but otherwise you will need a new one. Best place to start is here: http://pickguards.us...thergibson.html

Welcome to the forum BTW.

Hey guys, I'm the new guy here so play nice:)

However I've been playing for 6 years.

ANYWAYS.

I have this Epiphone G-310 that I've had for like 5 years now and I'm trying to put pickup covers on them to add the guitar aesthetically, but I've run into a few problems.

2. The pickup with the covers on them now won't fit through the hole of the pickguard and are sitting at an awkward angle. How can I fix this? Have you guys ran into the same problems? Thanks.