Gibson Brands Forums

Jeff 'Skunk' Baxter case

craiguitar

Hi all,

Newbie here...

I have a Jeff Skunk Baxter Elec/Acoustic, and I would like to buy an Epiphone hardcase for it.

Now, the confusion comes when I do an internet search, various websites suggest this model needs a 'Dreadnought' Case.

However I see the Jeff Baxter model more as a 'medium Jumbo', and as far as I can see it is pretty much the same size / shape as an Epiphone PR5-E, which comes with a Medium Jumbo case.

So I wonder if anyone cas shed any light on which case I should go for.

Cheers! [biggrin]

Craig, I'm guessing that your JSB would fit the same case as the PR-E series, but if you could take some measurements and post them here I could compare them to a few similar guitars I have and see which case will fit.

Also, post some pics up, we'd like to see some close-ups of this rare bird.

Brian

Hi, & thanks. I'll post up some pics soon. For the record I didn't think the JSB model was that rare?? I have looked after it, and it is stock, apart from the nut which I replaced when the old one broke. Anyway, The Dims for my guitar are on the link you just posted, although I don't know if the dims for the PR-E series are the same, but it's fair to say that on the face of it the two instruments look very similar. I just want to be sure before I push the button on a case.

I'm not so sure the Jeff Baxter guitar will fit in a normal PR-E case. These are quite a bit deeper than the PR-E series.. Thats probably why they reccomend a dreadnought case. Although they look almost identical from the front, the PR-E is a thinline. The Jeff Baxters are full depth.

I'm not so sure the Jeff Baxter guitar will fit in a normal PR-E case. These are quite a bit deeper than the PR-E series.. Thats probably why they reccomend a dreadnought case. Although they look almost identical from the front, the PR-E is a thinline. The Jeff Baxters are full depth.