Gibson Brands Forums

epiphone les paul special ii gt

iasoka

Hi,

I recently bought Epiphone les paul special ii GT. I found the string level is not level. D string is very high and lower E is very low.

Please tell me how to adjust it with the Tune-o-Magic Bridge. Can I do it myself or do I have to take it to the service centre?

I preferred to do it myself because I’m a student I don’t have money to pay for it.Is there any measurement for string heights?

Please help me to solve this problem.

Many Thanks

Welcome to the forums, great bunch around here, I hope you like the place.

When you say the lower E is sitting low, do you mean the thin or thick E, because lower means different things to different people. It'd be strange if the thicker E is low and the D is high as they're both on the bass side of the bridge, main thing I can think of off hand is that the D string isn't sitting in it's groove on the saddle properly, that may be worth checking. If possible could you post some pics of the bridge area.

Info on how to post pics, as well as most guitar repair/modification/maintenance advice can be found in the DIY thread pinned to the top of the Epi Lounge, thanks to animalfarm who compiled and maintains it.

DIY Thread

When you say the lower E is sitting low, do you mean the thin or thick E, because lower means different things to different people. It'd be strange if the thicker E is low and the D is high as they're both on the bass side of the bridge, main thing I can think of off hand is that the D string isn't sitting in it's groove on the saddle properly, that may be worth checking. If possible could you post some pics of the bridge area.

Don't forget the Special II GT has a strat-style trem.

LP+Special+II+GT+(CloseUp).jpg

Independent string-height adjustment and all. [thumbup]

Although the OP does mention a tune-o-matic. Dun dun dunnnn.