Gibson Brands Forums

Epi Masterbilt for beginner?

Kody.B

Hi all,

New here just so I can ask about this guitar. I've been playing for about 6 months now and have been really enjoying it, the only other instrument I play is the sax (6 going on 7 years) and it's refreshing playing strings.

I have been playing/practising on a Fender Strat electric, and I'm finding it a pain to learn on by needing an amp most of the time for practising.

I came to the conclusion that a steel string acoustic/semi acoustic would be the way to go.

If it were an ideal world, I would own a J-45 in a heartbeat, but even if I had been playing long enough to be decent at playing, I can't pull the $3,000 needed to get one in Australia out of nowhere :)

So I came across Epiphone as a manufacturer and a friend told me to look at the Masterbilt DR-500M for something that is similiar shape wise to a J-45.

Tomorrow I'm planning on going to a store and trying it and possibly buying it.

I was hoping someone, somewhere could help me out with a few questions.

How does it age? I plan on owning it for many years without upgrading, as I will be upgrading my electric when I am good enough.

Is this a good instrument for a beginner playability wise?

Also the place I'm going has the guitar listed for $650. The guitar shop that recommended them to me (they themselves couldn't order Gibson/Epiphone products) said to barter them down.

Is it a realistic expectation to get the guitar and a soft gig case for under $600 once I start seeing what price they can do? I will be going in with cash.

Anyway, thanks to everyone who can help me out!