Gibson Brands Forums

Epiphone Joe Bonamassa question ......

a7d7e7

Hey folks ....

Does anyone own a Joe Bonamassa Les Paul?

I have read nothing but stunning reviews about it, and have listened to the guitar on Youtube videos.

My question concerns the neck profile. Unfortunately, no stores near me have one in stock for me to try, nor do they have any other guitars with a Bonamassa neck profile.

Currently I own and play a Peavey Predator, the older, American made model that looks and sounds just like a Strat. I think the neck profile on it is a "Modern C" shape.

I've been playing guitar for about 5 months now.

Would it be difficult for me to play a Bonamassa Les Paul? Since it looks like I might have to order and buy online I need advice to make a good decision.

Thanks, folks.

Appreciate any and all advice.

-- Mark

If you like a somewhat beefier neck profile, you'll like the Bonamassa. I know I do! There's a LP Bonamassa GT (Goldtop) at my local Gibson/Epi dealer. It's a spectacular guitar. The neck is on par with the more beefier 1959 Standard and the fretboard has a 12" radius. I find the neck very comfortable to play and it the guitar sounds great. It's also a great bargain as it comes with USA Burstbuckers, a case and some case candy too. Since selling my Gibson LP, I've been, well, Les Paul-Less.[glare] I'm currently considering rounding out my guitars with another LP and this is on my list along with a leftover 1959 Standard in Iced Tea Burst. Just trying to keep the budget intact, of course.If you order it online, just make sure there is a return policy in place so you can return it or exchange it for something else if for some reason you find it isn't for you...

I friend of mine bought one, so I got a chance to play it.

It has, for sure, one of the largest necks I have ever seen. It is a fat neck, for sure.