Gibson Brands Forums

Presentation and request help about vintage "Sorrento". Rare?.

D22-S

Hi all. First sorry for my bad English. My name is Carlos. I'm not a musician, I play guitar only occasionally at home, but I like guitars, vintage especially.

I bought this "Sorrento" few days ago. Pickguard is missing, but the rest is in good condition. It was made in USA on 1996 I think (Has an inside blue label with 801853 serial number). But I have a question, all "Sorrento" I saw have inlays on fingerboard (oval or dot), but this doesn't. I think the neck has not been tampered. Does anyone know why, is it a rarity? or are there more of this type. Thanks.

d7b59f5d31f657b9363aa249dfbd6145o.jpg

cb55d8768ad0c890fe0e01ef14c308c1o.jpg

8e457ac98bc5c342ee2d9711aead2f2bo.jpg

Upppsssss!!!!!!. First thanks for answer "TommyK". Now I haven't more photos, the guitar is in luthier's workshop for a setup and little revarnishing on the neck. I'll have it within a month, things of varnish drying time. I'll post pictures after that time. Greetings.

I finally found the serial number on the head. Is hardly to see.And I have amistake in first post the correct number is 801583 ](*,)

b47ec300d403469384e3a9a38636083eo.jpg

BTW, I just noticed this pic. This type of serial numbering is NOT INDICATIVE of a Norlin era guitar. This is, most likely, a pre-Norlin guitar. This places it's manufacture in Kalamazoo, Michigan, possibly in the 1960's, but no later than 1970. This means it is worth significantly more than if it were a Norlin era guitar.

Edit: Can I call them or can I call them: http://www.epiphonewiki.com/index.php?title=Sorrento. Note that yours has the 1960's butter bean tuners buttons. The re-issues (1990's) had the keystone tuner buttons.