Gibson Brands Forums

Mods for Epiphone SG 4-400

BigDaddyRose

Hi all,

I have an alpine white G-400 I bought used about a year ago. I love playing it - mostly I play classic rock (AC/DC, Black Sabbath, Led Zeppelin) and blues, but love a variety of music.

Recently the bridge pickup started cutting out (would come back on if I switched to neck and back) and thought this might be a good opportunity to try my hand at re-wiring the whole thing.

I bought a set of Seymour Duncan Hot Rodded Humbuckers to put in it. Now the question is if I want a variety of tones, I'd like to have coil splitting using push/pull pots on the volume. Wondering if it would be possible to wire it up with in/out of phase like Jimmy Page. Anyone here done a mod like this on an Epi SG?

Also if you have a good idea about wiring diagrams as this is my first time modding a guitar would be nice. I have searched some on the internet and found good information about the splitting from Seymour Duncan's website.

Thanks,

Brian

Seymour Duncan and Guitarelectronics have a lot of wiring diagrams you can download for free.

http://www.seymourduncan.com/support/wiring-diagrams/

http://www.guitarelectronics.com/c=uogH5t9WDZ1oCMLjZsL3rahm9/category/wiring_resources_guitar_wiring_diagrams.2_pickup_guitar_wiring_diagrams/

Here is one for a Jimmy Page diagram:

JimmyPageWiring_zps6cbc1d17.jpg

One issue you may run into is the height of the push/pull pots in a G-400. Some will be to long and will not fit. I did a G-400 several years ago with push/pull pots, but I don't have it any more. I bought it as a project, the headstock was broken off. I don't recall the brand of pots I got, but they did fit. I wanna say I got them from Guitar Fetish.