Gibson Brands Forums

Bard 12-string - did they make a lefty?

buckwheatsf

I've had this 1968 Bard 12-string since the late 1970's. I'm going to keep it for sentimental reasons -- not looking to sell it. But here's the thing.... I'm a lefty.

My question is: Did Epiphone make any lefty Bards? I love the big body and the big neck and the BIG sound. I've been playing it upside-down all this time and the intonation is just a little off.... and the grooves in the ebony bridge are sloppy so one of the high E strings keeps popping out of its slot.....

I am thinking about hacking it, meaning, replacing the whole rosewood bridge piece or maybe routering a groove at the opposite slant of the one that's there now.... but, I'm leery of hacking it.... I mean, I can play it now, and the intonation is surprisingly NOT THAT BAD.... I'm not a pro luthier but I have worked a lot on guitars and I like working with hard woods like ebony and rosewood..... I have politically incoreect hoards of African and SA wood so I could easily make a new bridge plate and bridge....

But is it wrong to hack this thing? If I thought I could find a lefty Bard I'd wait until one turned up. Did Epi make one?

Here's the guitars I have, BTW:

1968 Bard 12-string

2006 lefty Epiphone Elitist Les Paul (my favorite)

2006 lefty Gibson Les Paul Standard

2010 Frank Beard square-neck resonator

2012 lefty Epiphone Les Paul Custom (had cracked neck, not pretty but easy fix)

So the Bard is my only acoustic. And what a BIG sound! I've had other 12-strings but they do not compare, and I love that huge neck.

I am a gear junkie and I am not averse to simply keeping this Bard as a collector item. I like Epiphones. My amps are:

Epi Valve Junior v3 head, Bitmo modded

Epi Valve Junior v3 combo, alnicomagnet modded

Blues Junior, BillM modded

Gibson Class 5

Comments and criticisms welcome!