Gibson Brands Forums

61 Reissue Tenon

freddairy

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie to the forum and I've been an SG owner now for about 26 hours. I'm a long time Fender guy, but last week I tried a SG 61 RI at the Guitar Center and fell in love. I ordered one on ebay and yesterday finally got it. I got it for 1200 bucks so I figured I got a decent deal, but I've been reading about the '61 SG VOS and it's long neck tenon and wondering should I have saved the extra 800 bucks and got a guitar that may last longer? I've done some reading online and couldn't come up with much information regarding tenons aside from the fact that there are short ones and long ones. I've also done numerous google searchers and found some people saying the '61 SG Reissue has a long tenon, while other searches have come up with the opposite answer.

I took a picture of my SG's neck pocket and maybe someone can tell me finally if this thing has a long or short neck tenon.

Also any other 61 Reissue owners here have any problems with this guitar?

Thanks.

P1010021.jpg

ive had my 61 reissue for 2-3 years now, and i love it more and more every day, ive done a fair amount of custom installations turning mine into quite the heavy guitar (8-9 pounds) mush heavier now than before,

and i too have always wondered about how strong the neck was (sure is a small heel)

but i havent had any trouble yet (knocks on wood) and i have faith in my axe,

as long as your guitar doesnt take any large drops or hits, you should have nothing to worry about

Don't sweat it. Unless you're abusing the guitar or are a clutz, you have nothing to worry about, and if you're one of those folks who really babies their gear, that guitar'll outlive you. Enjoy, and welcome to the dark side!

H-Bomb