Gibson Brands Forums

Buffalo Horn Bridge Pins

TheLiveSoundGuy

I just bought a set of those from that seller. They were very nice. The 5 degree taper fit my '99 J45R but did not fit my '06 J45 Maple. I got a set of bone ones(3 degree taper) from LMI to fit that one. I haven't seen a set of Colosi's so I can't give you a comparison. But, I'm very happy with them. the color is very even and they blend in with the ebony bridge. Almost invisible.

I have a set of Buff horn end pins, they are on my J45..

I just recently bought my J45.. and it was so disappointing to see such cheap looking PLASTIC end pins...

It was like... you buy a brand new Porsche and it comes with steelies...

So i put the buffalo horn end pins on my j45.. and it sounds so much better...

I'd really want to try bone or ivory though..

Jeff

With all the discussion about pins in recent months, I went into my files and got out all the original pins for every guitar I own. As a pin junkie, I have collected everything - even had sets made in Sterling Silver and 10K gold.

What I learned from my foray through original pins, is that about half of my guitars sounded great with the original pins (plastic of course) because the fit was perfect.

I have not bought from this specific eBay seller, but I have experience with this exact pin type.

These pins appear to be re-sells off larger lots you can import from China. The seller parcels them up in consistent sizes, which is nice, because the box of 500+ arrives as a tossed salad. The actual material they are made with is ox horn from a Chinese ox - quite different from our North American oxen (Yes, I know I am probably the only person here who ever took a team of these stupid SOBs through a field) in that they are more well behaved and darker horned. Still, some Chinese pins have been inked or dyed which I worry could lead to bleeding.