Gibson Brands Forums

Struggling to ID this 335

WezV

OK, i am fairly sure this is genuine but cannot tie it up to a model or year that i know of. any help would be much appreciated. In particular the serial number does not fit with a format i know and the pot codes sugest a 2000 or later production date but i would not expect a yellow label

fullfront.jpg

headback.jpg

label1.jpg

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e31/WezV/new/fullback.jpg

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e31/WezV/new/headfront.jpg

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e31/WezV/new/pickuproute.jpg

the pot code i can see is 407 0028 and everything appears to be original and untouched. Infact i would swear i am the first tech to see it as it was in quite a state

My first impression says fake. The shape of the neck tenon looks wrong in the last pic, and the wood color looks too bright.

I'm no expert, but that serial number on the headstock just doesn't look right. I've never seen a "Y" on a Gibson electric.

Have you got any background info on the guitar?

Edit~ After a little digging, it appears this could be an early 1960's block neck ES-335.

It looks like there is another label under the one pictured. I can make out some lettering, but not enought o make sense of. Have you noticed the other label?

yeah, i saw the other label - you can just about see through to it and it appears to be the same but missing the 'NHI' of the end of the model code

early 60's!!! nah, early 90's i could go with... its not that old and the tenon shape is consistent with CNC cut 335 neck... i think :?

the only info i was given was that they thought it was a 92 model because of the serial number (i told them that was not how the serial numbers read) and that it might have been made as a special by gibson for the japanese market (not sure if thats just baloney!!)

i had it down as a fake at first but if it is somebody has gone to a hell of a lot of trouble to get it spot on...

thats whyi am so confused by this guitar