Gibson Brands Forums

Es 339 30/60 neck or 59 neck?

daveinspain

Hi All,

I want to get a ES 339 any advise on which neck? I have a 2007 LP Classsic with the 60's neck... I have a Robot Guitar with the 50's neck and I also have a 71 SG Standard with the slim 60's neck. I love the feel of the 50's neck but the 71 SG with the slim 60's neck is very easy for me to play ( I am a latent beginner ) All that being said any advice from experianced players would be great...

Hi All' date='

I want to get a ES 339 any advise on which neck? I have a 2007 LP Classsic with the 60's neck... I have a Robot Guitar with the 50's neck and I also have a 71 SG Standard with the slim 60's neck. I love the feel of the 50's neck but the 71 SG with the slim 60's neck is very easy for me to play ( I am a latent beginner ) All that being said any advice from experianced players would be great... [/quote']

To avoid future injury, I would take the larger diameter neck. I notice that while playing my thin neck 1991 Fender Strat Ultra I get a lot of pain in my left arm, in the medial and upper forearm region. This condition is known as tendonitis. But I don't get the same pain when using my 1990 Gibson ES-347, 2007 Fender Baja Telecaster, or my 1981 Gibson L6-S ( in order of increasing thickness).

Oh BTW Nice Axes.....:)

Here was my reply from the same thread in the LP forum.