Gibson Brands Forums

What can anyone tell me about this L7 ?

jimmygibson

I am obviously a newbie.

Someone gave me this guitar to sell for him and I told him that it was a Gibson L7 and it could be worth a lot but it needed to be worked on by an expert. I have found an expert but I would like to know more about it before I invest in its renewal. I think the serial number printed inside the guitar is 98138 but the initials HAM are also written inside. I enclose photos as well. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Gibson L7 Electric Guitar Photo #1

http://www.flickr.com/photos/muycool/4617213709/

Gibson L7 Guitar - Top Of Inside Sticker # 8

Gibson Guitar Model L7 Electric Guitar The Head of the Guitar - Photo # 3

http://www.flickr.com/photos/muycool/4620244822/

[confused]

I am still kind of new at this and definitely not an expert on archtops, but are you sure the top was refinished? The site says that the natural top was available since 1939, but the finish does look like it is in good condition. I guess you would have to compare it to the back. The back and sides look like some beautiful stained bird's eye maple! The tail piece looks like post 1956. That is about all I got! Good Luck!

I agree with the '44 date, and yes a natural finish was an option starting in '39. The tailpiece is not original, or proper, for this guitar. It would have had/should have the flat bar raised diamond ES-175 type tailpiece.

Just for informational purposes here's a pic of my '47.

3202433668_e5c80b14ed_o.jpg

These guitars, in "fine" condition, sell for between $2000-$3000. Because of the tailpiece, crumbling pickguard, and natural finish (even if original), the value of this guitar is in the lower half of that range. If the top has been refinished, the value will be hurt again, probably be betwen $1500-$2000. You also stated this guitar "needed to be worked on by an expert", so the current value is indeterminable from the photos only.