Gibson Brands Forums

Antique Ivory Special II

SlagJones

I have come upon two Limited Edition Antique Ivory Special II with zebra pickups. It seems that one is heavier than the other. Could they be made out of different wood? What else would account for the weight difference? Though I haven't actually put them on a scale to see the exact difference, one definitely seems heavier when I pick it up.

Am I just crazy? Scratch that, I know the answer to that question. :-/

No, you're not crazy. No two pieces of wood, even of the same species, are alike and there is always a range of densities to be expected, depending on a variety of growth factors. We have two G&L Tribute ASATs in our store right now and one of them feels like it's twice the weight of the other yet they are both made of ash.

Does anyone know what years this guitar was produced?

Any general opinions on the Special II?

I'm really new to guitars and I know it's pretty much a cheap starter guitar but I really like it. What can I look forward to in the future if I decide to get a Studio or Standard? Ultimately I'd like to get an alpine white Custom but right now, I'm very happy with learning on the Special II.

Does anyone know what years this guitar was produced?

Any general opinions on the Special II?

I'm really new to guitars and I know it's pretty much a cheap starter guitar but I really like it. What can I look forward to in the future if I decide to get a Studio or Standard? Ultimately I'd like to get an alpine white Custom but right now' date=' I'm very happy with learning on the Special II. [/quote']

They've been making the Special II for years... at least since 1999 if not earlier.