Gibson Brands Forums

Ancient short-scale Epi bass. What is it?

Bassthang

I've had an Epiphone bass guitar for years. It was bought by my Dad for my birthday (back in 1979 - a long time ago!). I got a Rickenbacker 4001 a few years later though, and never looked back! Recently though I started playing it again, as it's much more portable, and I find myself humping lots of other gear to rehearsals these days. The only problem is, I can't find out what it is! I think it's actually a bass version of an Epi guitar.

It's a red solid twin offset horn strat/jazz shape, short-scale neck, single boxed 3-way selector switch, vol & tone pots. Dot markers on the fretboard. Very low tension on the strings, which is difficult to work with, but allows for some great vibrato effects.

For a picture, see http://www.johnpierpoint.com/images/epibass.jpg. It may date from the 60s or early 70s.

Note that the pickups have been replaced with those off my Rick (originals were weedy single-coils with large rectangular chrome covers), the bridge was originally a horrible tinny 2-saddle job, and the small switch next to the jack has been added (by me, but I can't remember why now though). Scratchplate is transparent bevelled perspex, painted black on the back with pearloid Epi logo inlay. It used to have a damper over the bridge (hence the screws) which was totally useless. I'm currently trying out ways to fit the original pickup covers over the Rick pickups. Or I may see what other pickups I can fit instead.

Does anyone have any ideas? I can take some more pictures of the missing bits if it helps.