Gibson Brands Forums

Jazz tone on LP Classic

dcmiller

Hello all...

I am new to guitar playing (3 months) and really new to electrics (3 days). I just bought a Les Paul Classic. The amp is a Roland 30X.

I am looking for help in setting the guitar and amp for a good warm jazz tone. Any feedback is definitely appreciated.

Thanks,

Derrick

You know, I started out with acoustics because I wanted to play the guitar as a solo instrument...just for my own enjoyment.

Unfortunately, other than classical stuff, I am having a hard time finding music for acoustic solo guitar. Hence the LP and an interest in Jazz.

Thanks for the input on jazzy pickups. I am not to the point of upgrading such things at the moment. I have some good learning materials and am ready to go.

The tip about the neck pickup was right on the money. And it turns out the Roland 30x has a "JC Clean" setting modelled on their Jazz Chorus 120 amp. Looks like I am good to go if I can keep parts from falling off the guitar.

Derrick

You know' date=' I started out with acoustics because I wanted to play the guitar as a solo instrument...just for my own enjoyment.

Unfortunately, other than classical stuff, I am having a hard time finding music for acoustic solo guitar. Hence the LP and an interest in Jazz.

Thanks for the input on jazzy pickups. I am not to the point of upgrading such things at the moment. I have some good learning materials and am ready to go.

The tip about the neck pickup was right on the money. And it turns out the Roland 30x has a "JC Clean" setting modelled on their Jazz Chorus 120 amp. Looks like I am good to go if I can keep parts from falling off the guitar.

Derrick[/quote']

I'm a relative newbie here myself so haven't got much to add to the good advice you've already had - except, maybe, a certain amount of encouragement.