Gibson Brands Forums

Help on new pickups for the future....

mealz1281734035

I've done some research on what pickup's to put in my zakk wylde....just want to hear your opinions on my choices =D>

Neck:

I really want to try out a p90 kind of deal, so I've been thinking a GFS mean 90 in the neck position

Bridge:

I've been leaning toward the GFS power rails (I did a lot of reading on the difference between the crunchy and power rails, apparently the power rails is more balanced)

I just want your opinions on this pickup combination...not really looking for anything other than GFS pickups (I'm just a poor university student...and I've heard a lot of good things about GFS pickups)

I play a lot of alternative music...a kind of punk rock distortion (something kind of ballsy and something that sounds rich when you palm mute, yet can really stand out in lead), and a nice warm clean sound...

On top of all that I want to keep the 'black' pickup look...(I love the look of the EMG's, but i want to try something different...change up the tone of my guitar)

Thanks for your help:)

Mealz

Leaving the cover off of any pickup will give it a tiny bit more treble than a covered pickup. The reason for this is because the magnets in the pickup, "pick up" the vibrations from the strings. When you put a piece of metal between the two, there is a small amount of treble lost, but nothing too obvious. It pretty much comes down to what you like better aesthetically.

I think if you play punk rock and such the mean 90 might not be for you, but that's just my opinion. If anything, supposedly the Gibson P-94's are hotter, so you might want to look in to those. I have GFS mean 90's in my dot and I honestly couldn't see them used for punk (i guess this is really what type of punk you look at though) unless you use some sort of pedal.