Gibson Brands Forums

Couple questions...

AlexStolte

Hi guys, ive been surfing the forum for awhile, but decided to become a member only after deciding to buy an epiphone for the christmas holiday. I just have a couple questions on deciding what epi is right for me. i consider myself an intermediate player, i have been playing for a good 4 years now. i know quality when i see it.

in personal preference i like a nice solid body guitar.

my price range is up to 650 ish, enough for a lp standard i believe.

i went to guitar center over the weekend and saw a beautiful epi g400, not sure if it was a deluxe or not, but it had gold hardware and a flametop honeyburst finish. i would love to get some info on this

i played it. it was a decent guitar

i also saw the epiphone les pauls, i played one or two standards with plus tops(flame mostly) and they were comfortable and stylish. however i found a few factory defects such as rusty bolts in the hardware, some discolorations etc. i moved on

this particular store did not have any korina explorers, a guitar that i had been planning on playing, and possibly buying.

just wanted to know your opinions on the guitars, and or any recomendations.

btw i play some alternative, erratic type music, i.e. the fall of troy. so i need a decent sized neck, but something with sustain. not a deathmachine ( i already have an ibanez lol).

thanks in advanced!

I'm not sure if this is going to be helpful for you but I just bought an Epi Les Paul Ultra 2.

I like the flexibility of this guitar. I like the weight, or lack of, and the way the back is formed for comfort.

Don't know if it has the kind of attack you're looking for.