Gibson Brands Forums

Dot D string - nut to blame?

WireWhipper

Greetings, Epiphonians! Newbie here. I joined this forum after scoring a brend new cherry red Dot that was mistakenly clearance priced at my local "large guitar store"! The price tag on the guitar was intended for a lefty Dot they had in the back, but, they honored the clearance price anyway. I've never owned an Epi electric before (I have a Epi PR5-E acoustic/electric) and was impressed with the quality of this Dot given the price.

Anyway, I had the guitar set up a month ago and I've noticed that my D string is having tuning issues. I can turn the tuning machine about a quarter turn before detecting any difference in pitch (I verified this with my electronic tuner as well). After turning the tuning machine, though, I can give the D a good tug and it goes flat. I took it back to the shop where I had the setup done and they filed the slots again and added more graphite for me, but my tech suggested the tuning machine for the D was bad. Taking his advice I purchased a new set of Gibson tulip head Grovers and swapped them out, but - I still have the same problem.

I've noticed that one of the most popular Dot mods is a higher quality nut (graphite, bone, etc.) Is this where my problem lies? Also, I'm not hearing the usual 'ping' sound associated with strings getting hung up in the nut.

I get a similar issue, but I've learned to just live with it. Mine is the "A" string. Like you, no "ping" and it doesn't do it consistently. I see you've tried the graphite and recut the nut (ouch). As you noted, you could replace the nut with bone or another material. Nothing to lose and if that doesn't work, you know it's not the nut.

Besides that problem, you have to be loving that guitar. Nice that you got a deal and although we've seen red Dots before, we haven't seen yours.

WireWhipper,

Welcome to the forum. Congrats on the Dot.

J.S. has a point. Could just be the nature of the beast......but....