Gibson Brands Forums

very, very simple question

valis

bought an epiphone les paul 100 (the lefty model) and got a great deal on it from the local guitar shop. Problem is, the manual wasn't included and I am so musically daft I could misplay a triangle.

My main question is what are the four knobs on the body for? I figured one as volume, but the rest are greek, and no manuals seem to exist online. It's not critical yet, as I'm still learning the scales and chords, and don't need the guitar plugged in for that.

Thanks in advance,

v

2 are volume and 2 are tone, and the switch changes which pickup you are using.

The knobs on the top row, closets to the tailpiece are the volume knobs. Of those two knob, the closest to the neck is the volume for the neck pickup. The other is the volume for the bridge pickup.

The bottom two are tone knobs. The one closest to the neck is the tone knob and the other is the bridge tone knob.

When the switch is up, Rhythm, the neck pickup is working, when the switch is all the way down, Treble, teh bridge pickup is working. When the switch is in the middle both are on.

If the switch is in the middle position and one of the volume knobs is turned off, you won't hear any volume. Taht is the way it is wired, kind of lik e a kill switch. Some guys like it that way, and others don't.

• 2 weeks later...
Hi' date='

and welcome here,

so here is my very, very simple answer :)

http://epiphone.com/images/EpiOwnrsManul.pdf

if you can't find it out yourself[biggrin']

Peter

:)

very, very simple indeed. Cheers, mate. that did the trick.

Now, where can I learn how to play chords before my five year old beats me to it?