Gibson Brands Forums

Classic US Goldtop

The Epiphone Les Paul Standard Limited CGT features:

* Mahogany body

* Maple veneer over carved top (US Classic Gold top)

* Set mahogany neck

* Slim-tapered neck profile

* Rosewood fretboard with trapezoid inlays

* Scale: 24-3/4"

* Nut width: 1-11/16"

* 2x Seymour Duncan Alnico Classic humbuckers

* Chrome hardware

* Grover tuners

* LockTone Tune-O-Matic bridge/stopbar tailpiece

* Finish: Gold

http://www.mylespaul.com/forums/epiphone-les-pauls/69213-new-limited-edition-epi-gold-top-any-details.html

From what I've read the Classic has the thicker 50's neck. The Slash has the thinner 60's neck. Both have long tenon.

How do you like it?

Check the link in my previous post for more info...

I am primarily a drummer, but have been noodling with guitars for about 2 years now. I've been trying to find a'great' guitar for the $ and I think this is the one.

It seems that most guitars under $500 suffer from inferior p/ups and hardware, and this Epi has all the quality parts, including bridge and pots, switch and jack. About $400 in parts alone.

The neck does seem a little fatter than most of the guitars I've tried. I was very close to buying a Epi LP Studio, with the 60's neck, even considered MIM Tele's, they just feel good to me, but are less versatile unless you buy a custom model, checked out the Squire J5, but its a bit of a tank and I like the idea of the set neck better.

For $120 more I got better wood, better finish, better everything ! I can deal with the neck.

This does look a good deal.

I've been reading the threads on mylespaul and people who have one seem to be saying that the neck has a long tenon and 1958 fat rear profile; and that the pickups are, in fact, SD Alnico pro IIs.

What is the neck profile on the Slash model? The Epi website just says it's his "favorite".

Alan