Gibson Brands Forums

Neck Profile - Question

glennc

Whilst I'm no expert on this, I own both a '59 ES 335 Reissue & a Les Paul '59 Reissue. The Les Paul '59 has a more thinline style neck whereas the ES 335 '59 has a neck similar in size to a Les Paul '57 reissue. The later ES 335's have the more slimline neck style. As I recall the ES 335 '63 reissue has a more slimline neck style.

I really love the neck style on both the ES 335 '59 reissue and on the Les Paul R7. They have a real chunky, larger neck style which has a very profound impact on the overall tonal qualities of the guitars.

If you like the more thinline neck styles you will need to look at later ES 335's. That is later than '59 reissues.

Whilst I'm no expert on this, I own both a '59 ES 335 Reissue & a Les Paul '59 Reissue. The Les Paul '59 has a more thinline style neck whereas the ES 335 '59 has a neck similar in size to a Les Paul '57 reissue. The later ES 335's have the more slimline neck style. As I recall the ES 335 '63 reissue has a more slimline neck style.

I really love the neck style on both the ES 335 '59 reissue and on the Les Paul R7. They have a real chunky, larger neck style which has a very profound impact on the overall tonal qualities of the guitars.

If you like the more thinline neck styles you will need to look at later ES 335's. That is later than '59 reissues.

Hello AlanC,

Thanks for responding. I can only compare the 59 Les Paul Reissue which was extremely thick, which I like. It appears that the 59 Custom Shop Reissue doesn't have the same as the neck on yours. It definitely isn't a 63 slim style but it isn't as chunky as the 59 Reissue I've seen. I'd say it is more like an early ES-135. They also make a reissue of a les paul junior or TV that had a real baseball neck. Well I love the guitar and am stuck with its neck. It sure is a beautiful and great sounding guitar. How do you like the Les Paul reissue. They are beautiful. Take care and thanks again for your time.