Gibson Brands Forums

Epi LP Std plaintop questions

oneal lane

I am brand new to the Les Paul world. I bought a Epi LP Std "plain top" traditional sunburst yesterday. All my electrics are Stratocasters or Squier Strats.

My first question regards the bridge components which, I detect are alloy, and not steel except for the mounting posts. As with the cheeper Strats "pot metal" is sometimes used for bridge parts. Is this the case with the Epi's

Is a replacement with all steel bridge and stop advisable and improve sound? this is the case with the Strats.

My second question regards the top finish. I have run across the debate topic of: Epiphone uses "paper"

or a "thin veneer" to finish the tops. Epiphone claims the tops are maple? Is this really the case and a veneer applied for the fancy finish tops. It seems silly that a "plain top" would need a veneer if the wood for the top is actually maple.

Thanks in advance to all help

OL

Question #1: I've never had any issues with the stock Epi Bridges, or

with aftermarket hardware. They might be chrome-plated "mystery metal",

but, it works for me! [thumbup]

Question #2:

...all the signature sound of a Gibson Les Paul at a fraction of the cost!!!

Mahogany body

Maple veneer over carved top

BTW, WELCOME to the Forum! Please contibute at your convenience [thumbup] .

box-house-thumb-400x300.jpg

Hi and welcome

yes it is a mahogany body and a carved maple top, from what my tech told me the plain top does not have the veneer only the plus top and the ultra.

The bridge and tail piece are a new design by epi n is still pat pending. They are excellent and you should not have any problems. The only changes I made to mine was a upgraded version of the grover tuners and changed the switch to a switchcraft.

Enjoy it, it is the closest thing you will ever get to a gibson with out forking over thousands of dollars.