Gibson Brands Forums

ES 335 Label and SN

jbear

Hi All,

Looking at ES335's and I came across one with a white label inside that says Gibson USA, ESDT 335, and the SN is 009XX582. There's nothing else printed on it. It's listed as a 2001. Can anyone help me with where this guitar was made and the story with the white label? All of the ones I've seen have had orange labels, but I have limited experience with the details of 335's.

Thanks in advance!

I was holding back as I'm not positive, but in some model numbers the D = dot makers and the T = figured top. Odd thing is that nomenclature usually only appears on the factory final check list in the model number field, not on the inside label. OTOH Gibson is known to swing on this stuff sometimes.

For instance, on the final check list for an LP you might see this in the model number field - LPS6GTNH1 = Les Paul Standard, 60's Neck, Gold Top, Nickel Hardware, '1' signifies that it is not b stock or a 2nd.

Thanks for the reply.

Mostly I am interested in the city of origin and the "white label thing" as I've only seen orange in the past.

I was holding back as I'm not positive, but in some model numbers the D = dot makers and the T = figured top. Odd thing is that nomenclature usually only appears on the factory final check list in the model number field, not on the inside label. OTOH Gibson is known to swing on this stuff sometimes.

For instance, on the final check list for an LP you might see this in the model number field - LPS6GTNH1 = Les Paul Standard, 60's Neck, Gold Top, Nickel Hardware, '1' signifies that it is not b stock or a 2nd.

The label should have the city and state at the bottom. I'm not really up on labels, but isn't a white label from a number of years ago? Gibson changes color from time to time.

And that serial should be all numbers.

Here's a label from an acoustic - city & state at the bottom -

2004_Gibson_Nick_Lucas_03424048_label.jpg