Gibson Brands Forums

Historic vs Custom shop...

dk1959

I have a Historic 57 BB. This reminds me everytime I pick it up to play, what Gibson can still offer the public. As far as I can tell, this guitar is as close as Gibson can get to a original 57 thru 60 BB. My question is, what the difference between what the Custom shop builds, and a batch made on the line, Historic collection. I think both guitars have VOS construction, (no maple cap, paf sticker PUs, the pots look vinatage to me as well, but I could be wrong, Im no expert. Whats the differnce between a Historic Collection and a custom shop Custom?

(no pun intended) david

About VOS you can check the following points which were done differently with VOS guitars (from 2006 onwards):

• Set-Up. The Custom Shop is the ONLY major manufacturer in the world utilizing a revolutionary new process that yields a perfect fret dress and perfectly cut nut every time; nut will also be hand-shaped for comfort and vintage authenticity. (PLEK machine).
  • Fretboard. Like the Page Custom Authentic, the binding is hand-rolled, with frets extending out slightly further for an incredibly comfortable playing surface.
  • Neck. Focus on three key eras for the neck size: early 50’s, ’59 and ‘60.
  • Hardware. New aging process that delivers perfect oxidation every time.
  • Finish. New proprietary finishing process that still utilizes 100% Nitro but yields an amazing vintage look

Stijn, with all due respect, you guys still can't cut a corian nut properly. All of my VOS guitars with corian, and practically every one I played in the store, needed some sort of nut work.

My BB custom was purchased new in 1991. It has a 5 didget yellow serial # 2 71**