Gibson Brands Forums

57 Classics in my Epiphone Sheraton

fatdip23

I just put a 57 classic and 57 classic plus in my Sheraton. One problem is that the treble position is only about half on loud as the neck pickup and I'm not sure why. I was curious if something in the input jack or toggle switch wiring could cause this? It's my first time switching pups so I'm totally clueless.

Great choice on the '57's!! If you're getting sound and the toggle works like normal, I doubt that it would be an issue with those. I would try adjusting the pickup heights first(lowering the neck, and raising the bridge until they are similar). There is more string vibration near the neck pickup than on the bridge, which makes it sound louder.

Great choice on the '57's!! If you're getting sound and the toggle works like normal, I doubt that it would be an issue with those. I would try adjusting the pickup heights first(lowering the neck, and raising the bridge until they are similar). There is more string vibration near the neck pickup than on the bridge, which makes it sound louder.

Yep you nailed it alright. It was a quick fix, only a couple minutes of tweaking. Now this Epi is a beast! Thank you for the tip!!

I did the exact same mod... I wanted a 335 forever, but couldn't afford it - so I bought a Korean clone and put a 57 classic in it (for about the cost I paid for the guitar...LOL!) It sounds great. Still not a 335, but it certainly made a difference!

I did the exact same mod... I wanted a 335 forever, but couldn't afford it - so I bought a Korean clone and put a 57 classic in it (for about the cost I paid for the guitar...LOL!) It sounds great. Still not a 335, but it certainly made a difference!