Gibson Brands Forums

Serial #helpppp

Hello fellow Gibson family i am new to the Gibson world just bought my first Gibson a month ago 2012 sg special and then a week later saw a sg melody maker on ebay for very cheap its a project guitar i plan on restoring i have seen ways to figure out the date from the serial number but am horrible at numbers and am confused could anybody help me out the # is 900158

Hello fellow Gibson family i am new to the Gibson world just bought my first Gibson a month ago 2012 sg special and then a week later saw a sg melody maker on ebay for very cheap its a project guitar i plan on restoring i have seen ways to figure out the date from the serial number but am horrible at numbers and am confused could anybody help me out the # is 900158

Hello there.. and welcome

Pcitures of the guitar always helps... You can post pics if you sign up to www.photobucket.com and use the IMG links in your posts (only 5 per post)... Sounds like it could be an old one though with that serial number (unless its some kind of Vintage Original Spec (VOS)

You can try this for the serial number http://www.guitardaterproject.org/gibson.aspx

Or, email Gibson customer service. They will also want to see pictures [thumbup]

Here are some pics hope they come up lol

WOW that is an old one... from what the serial number database says

Your guitar was made at the

Kalamazoo or Nashville Plant , USA

approximately in: 1970, 1971 or 1972

Id like to see pitures of the front too.. And you say you bought that cheap?? Models that old are worth way more than the new ones.. if I were you id look into what it is before you try working on it and look at restoring it with original parts (alot of people love the natural aging on old guitars like that, and chances are the wood will sound great ;) [thumbup] )

thanks a lot buddy yeah i got it for 300$ on ebay i could not pass it up at all very awesome guitar

For instance...