Gibson Brands Forums

Question about Non reverse 1966 firebird

Dutchie

Hi All,

I really hope to find some answers and opinions here. I have the opportunity to buy an all original (?) non revrese Firebird VII from 1966. The owner claims it is all original but frankly I have no or little knowledge on these guitars. The guitar has been refninished and looks gorgeous. It plays like a dream, sounds very good and feels like a true Gibson / quality instrument.

There are several things that I want to check, is there a firebird expert that can comment on them?:

- The serial number has faded partially so I can not use it to check specifications and such

- The neck and middle pickup are indeed original and have the pat. sticker on them dating from 1963. This is a good sign I guess.

- The bridge pickup sounds great, looks the same as the other two but has no pat. sticker on it. Could it be that this is an older production pickup before the pat. ?

- There is no Firebird logo on the pickguard

- It has a toggle switch instead of the slider / lever type switch seen on the reverse firebirds.

- It has a stopbar bridge (with an ABR-1) instead of the commonly used Lyre Vibrato. There are no signs of drilled holes however.

- It has a glued on neck, I read that this was typical for non reverse firebirds from the sixties? Is this correct?

- The guitar is very light, the body has been hollowed out and is Mahogany. Is this typical as well?

- tuners are Kluson and appear to be original

- all hardware is Gold and looks old enough to be from that era.

- The fretboard is rosewood

- There are no other indications or marks on the guitar that date it back to the mid sixties.

- The sustain is not that great if you compare it to my 2007 firebird with maple wings. The output is much lower as well.

I'll ad a picture of the guitar for reference, thanks for the replies and your help!

post-49462-068335900 1353428384_thumb.png

post-49462-043583100 1353428403_thumb.png