Gibson Brands Forums

Trad pro II vs Standard 2013

abracadaben

Hi,

Im new here and Im not sure if this has been discussed yet since the trad pro II and 2013 standard just came out.

So Im about to buy a les paul. though Id like to get your insight on a few things since Im not a gibson expert.

to start off, I tried both and like them both. Which is why Im not sure which to get.

I am looking for a les paul I can keep a few years (or even more) and just change pickups. Basically which is the best LP body

So far the differences I know off are the pickups of course, the finish (std has AAA and trad pro II has A grade), the trad pro II has satin back and sides when the std has glossy. The 2013 neck is new (still asymmetrical but more comfy than 2008).

the trad pro II has push push and the std has push pull. the std has a phase switch when the trad pro II has 10 db boost and split coil.

I haven't tried the trad pro with the BB III. The trad pro II has a super '57.

1) does anybody have any experience with super '57? if yes what is your feedback?

2) does the finish grade of the top has any impact on sound?

3) looking further down the road (when I eventually upgrade to a custom after saving), which of both would keep its value the best? By that I mean is it hard to resell a les paul that has only grade A top?

4) It seems to mee that push/pull would be more usefull than push/push even though push/push seems cooler. the problem Id see on the long term with push/push is that it can be hard to determine if its already pushed or not since you have to push for either position.

5) which is a better feature on the long run? split coil or phase switch?

6) it seems that the LP STD 2013 is also weight relief instead of chambered can you confirm? (though its different from suiss cheese).

7) regarding 6) is the STD 2013 weight relief actually better for sound?

also the traditional was another option but it seems that there aren't any push/pull switches on it.