Gibson Brands Forums

Locking Tuners

rkreisher

I am looking for Locking Tuners that will be a direct fit for my Gibson Les Paul Studio. From what I can tell they are Klunson-type machine heads. I would prefer to keep my guitar as close to stock as possible, but I do prefer locking tuners on all my guitars. I have seen some on Musicians Friend's site that I think would work, but as I have no experience with this brand not sure if these will be the best fit for my guitar. See link below for what I am looking at:

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/accessories/kluson-kb3l-keystone-locking-guitar-tuning-machines--3-per-side-bolt-bushing

I am looking at the chrome ones. I have heard of other brands, but not sure if they would be a direct fit change wothout any drilling involved.

Any help would be helpful...

I see that no one here has any advise for a newbie. Friendly Place y'all have here.

RK

I am looking for Locking Tuners that will be a direct fit for my Gibson Les Paul Studio. From what I can tell they are Klunson-type machine heads. I would prefer to keep my guitar as close to stock as possible, but I do prefer locking tuners on all my guitars. I have seen some on Musicians Friend's site that I think would work, but as I have no experience with this brand not sure if these will be the best fit for my guitar. See link below for what I am looking at:

http://www.musicians...de-bolt-bushing

I am looking at the chrome ones. I have heard of other brands, but not sure if they would be a direct fit change wothout any drilling involved.

Any help would be helpful...

Take a picture of the back of the head stock on your guitar and we can tell if these will work or not

+1

So I would guess that you checked the reviews? I'd be confused too. Some people had to modify their guitar, and others were able to do this as a direct replacement. (looks like the Reissues were not a direct replacement, but the newer standards were)