Gibson Brands Forums

the string choices

blindboygrunt

just pondering about strings after a few recent posts .

it is definately one of the most questioned subjects here and i'm just wondering about it all .

i'm no expert here and to be honest i use mostly daddario strings due to availablilty and price and i dont find anything really wrong with them . i recently bought some 11's to see if it helped playability but i think i'll go back to 12's .

i have tried a few brands , john pearse , earthwood , several varieties of martin , elixirs, newtones and probably a couple more i cant remember on guitars in the past.

ordinary red packet martins i find last about an hour and they feel like year old strings ... apart from them i havent really reached a defiinate opinion on strings .

you guys have all told your string choices ,and seem to be very definate at which ones are the best for you .

whereas i seem to have come to a conclusion that it doesnt matter , or maybe a better way of putting it is that its a fruitless search , for me anyway ...... who's to say the elixirs wouldnt have settled into the best string ever after 12 months , or although the red martiins die quickly maybe they were the best for that one hour .

i have read many people saying that martins are the best ones they have tried .....

then theres the point that EA made that his daddarios sound fantastic plugged in !

seems like a never ending search and one which has too many variables to see a light at the end of the tunnel.

anybody think the same as me ?

Hey,

I would normally use d'adrios, martin reds seem to last about 5mins or realistically 2 hrs?

Because I'm a cheapskate, I bought a 3 pack of martin reds for 9 quid from amazon. The first pack have been on my guitar for 6/7 weeks and still have a nice tone(they have started to go black though).

So now i'm totally confused?