Gibson Brands Forums

Help Identifying a 1970's LP DC Model

Stoopalini

I've been playing this guitar for about 2 years now, and absolutely love it! It's one of those pairings (the guitar and me) which is so seamless ... I've never had a guitar feel so transparent before. It had major repair work done back in 2008, when it fell out of the back of a truck. we're talking $900+ worth of body and neck repairs. Recently, one of the neck breaks, down by the body, started opening up, so I loosened the strings and am using one of my other guitars in the meantime.

So now I'm trying to determine if this is worth repairing, value wise. It's certainly worth repairing to me, just due to the fact how it fits me, but I'd really like to know specifically what model it is.

I have a subscription to "The Blue Book of Electric Guitars" and cannot find a good match for what I have here. Due to the repairs in 2008, I believe the serial number decal was removed, so I don't have the serial number for this. I looked up the POT number here, and it tells me the pots were made in 1976.

The BlueBook shows lots of LP DCs, but none in the 1976-77 range ... so I'm not sure how to identify the model and value of it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

IMG_0505.jpg

IMG_0506.jpg

IMG_0504.jpg

IMG_0503.jpg

Hey, a lot of mystery with this one! My books show the Les Paul Standard DC beginning in 1998. That being the case, the guitar should have a serial# impressed into the back of the headstock and not a decal as in the mid-70's.

Since you say that there was extensive repairs done in 2008, we can only assume that the electronics were replaced at some time with older potentiometers...!? The orange drop capacitors suggest a newer rewiring. Those are code-dated also(check it out).

Also check the pickups and cavities for clues!

In excellant condition it is not of great vintage value and with the damage/repairs described it would lower the value even more.

It looks very nice in the pics.