Gibson Brands Forums

LP STD Upgrade

nmorales30

Hi, I have an LP STD, I want to upgrade It, so I bought this:

1.- Gibson Tailpiece TP-6.

2.- Graph Tech ResoMax NV2 Auto Lock Bridge 6mm.

3.- Graph Tech Nut TUSQ XL 1/4" Epiphone Slotted Nut.

has anyone of you used any of these items in yours guitars?

I have a Epiphone Gothic Les Paul Studio which I bought over a week ago at Guitar Center and I haven't seen any need to do any mods to it. I've been playing for 40 years ( I'm 53 ) and I'm 100% happy with it just the way that it is. I do have 2 Fender Strats, one of which is MIM that I did have to do some mods to though . I installed some Graph-Tech bridge saddles on it along with Fender Locking tuners.

I bought a Gibson ES-347 with a TP6 new in 1981, kept it for about a month, and traded it in on a Les Paul Heritage 80 Elite. I wound up putting a TP6 on the Les Paul and played it that way for quite a few years. It was convenient to fine-tune with my picking hand at the tailpiece, but by the time I got rid of the guitar in 2001 (it weighed a ton, and I got to where my back couldn't take it any more), I'd replaced the TP6 with a stopbar like the original. It seemed like I got a little more sustain with the stopbar.

Just make sure the 'imperial' Gibson parts will fit your 'metric' Epi [confused]

This comes up every so often.

Good a time as any to get everyone current on the subject.

Epiphone does make TP-6 tailpieces for Epiphones. They put them on the B.B. King Lucille and maybe one or two others.

Sometimes you can find them used on Ebay. They do say Epiphone on the back.

Other than that, yes, you need to do some slight easy mods if you want to use a Gibson TP-6.

Some like them, others not.

Mine:

bluelpnew.jpg

Others have told me that they had little or no trouble doing a drop in with a TP-6.

I wasn't that lucky.

My Epi studs were slightly larger than the Gibson's that came with it. (now mind...the center to center on the studs was the same)