Gibson Brands Forums

Is this a Sheraton or a Sheraton II

Brandon65

Hello everyone, I am very new to the forum and am fairly new to playing...been only 6 months.

I just piced up an Epiphone Sheraton and I absolutely love it. The sound that it makes is outstanding. My question is I am not sure if it is a Sheraton or a Sheraton II and since I am very new to guitars, I cant tell what the diferences are. S020302330 is the serial number and the sticker on the inside is orange in color and just says SHERATON. The only thing is that it is missing the truss cover, and I dont want to buy the wrong one for it. From looking at the serioal number, it appears to have been built in March of 2002 snd all the parts on it are original as verified by my technician. So how do I tell the difference between a SHERATON and a SHERATON II ? Thanks...

Hello everyone, I am very new to the forum and am fairly new to playing...been only 6 months.

I just piced up an Epiphone Sheraton and I absolutely love it. The sound that it makes is outstanding. My question is I am not sure if it is a Sheraton or a Sheraton II and since I am very new to guitars, I cant tell what the diferences are. S020302330 is the serial number and the sticker on the inside is orange in color and just says SHERATON. The only thing is that it is missing the truss cover, and I dont want to buy the wrong one for it. From looking at the serioal number, it appears to have been built in March of 2002 snd all the parts on it are original as verified by my technician. So how do I tell the difference between a SHERATON and a SHERATON II ? Thanks...

Welcome to the forum! and congrats on scoring a Sheri !!!

Sheraton (50th Anniversary '62 Re-Issue)

GarysCam293_zps9b2e915d.jpg

mini humbuckers, frequensator tailpiece, 1 pc mahogany neck

Sheraton II

GarysCam297_zps5a2be079.jpg

full sized humbuckers, stop-bar tailpiece, 3 pc (actually 5) maple/walnut neck