Gibson Brands Forums

1949 Gibson SJ Southern Jumbo?

Jimmy Guitar

Hi,everyone,this SJ on ebay look in pretty bad shape to me,but is it a real thing i wonder? is there any mod done to it? back of the body and neck look horrible with all those checking,is that normal? is it worth that much$$? i'm newbie here try to get some info about the guitar i'm looking for,please feel free to let me know.Thx.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=330295049419&ssPageName=ADME:X:RTQ:US:1123

that overspray on the back of the neck is horrible. i'm not so sure about the split in the back really being repaired. there are other issues too...

there is a chance that i would take it for the right price if i had it in hand. this auction has already gone WELL past that price though.

i actually just realized it was a completed auction.

It looks okay to me - I don't think it's been oversprayed. I think the old finish is just flaking off, but I could be wrong. The only thing that appears to be unoriginal are the tuners, and that's pretty common. The old ones had plastic buttons that just rotted away most likely. It's got an interesting sunburst with a really thick border.

I think it looks like a nice old guitar.

Jimmy, Keep watching the auctions, look on gbase. There was a nicer 46 SJ just sold on ebay last week I think it was $4600. This guitar does look to be original with the exception of the tuners. The Sunburst finish on this era Gibson were pretty thick and this guitar wasn't taken very good care of. I agree that he did well on this guitar in the current market got top $.

There is another SJ on ebay now, infact, I thought this thread would be about that guitar. Check it out it just came on yesterday, won't go as far as this guitar. Real beat! I bid low on it and got drowned out, probably go for $2300. Probably sounds great like the guy says. Well worth it to some people. You have to decide what you can afford and what you can live with.