Gibson Brands Forums

355 Staying In Tune

355Pulse

I'm having an awful lot of trouble keeping my brand new Memphis ES-355 (with Bigsby) in tune, particularly the G and B strings when bending strings and using the Bigsby.

This is my first "new" Gibson guitar but I've been playing for over 30 years, including so called other lower end guitars fitted with Bigsby tremolos (Gretsch) and have never had such a huge problem as I'm experiencing now. I've tried graphite in the bone nut slots and saddles, changed and stretched 0.10 strings etc - all of which is second nature to me anyway. To be fair I haven't taken it to a pro luthier as yet as I've always done my own set-up. If I press down on the G or B strings behind the nut they go sharp straight away indicating to me a nut issue with the strings not returning to zero.

This has been my dream guitar for as long as I can remember and I've finally got one and I love it apart from the tuning issue. I want to use it as my main live guitar but it's proving very troublesome to the point I can't rely on it staying in tune throughout one song.

Any advice from anyone suffering a similar fate would be much appreciated.

Sounds like you have found the problem already, at least ONE problem.

Yea, if you press the string behind the nut and it goes out of tune without returning to pitch, that's a sure indication the nut is binding the strings.

For that, you either need a luthier, or even a "tech", or get the right files/tools to do it yourself.

The saws and files you would want are kinda spendy, but you could try a little sandpaper folded up to try and smooth them out a little. It takes some practice to get them really good, but keep in mind if you do take it on yourself, you might be finding someone to replace it anyway (which ain't the end of the world).